Book Review – Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Mere Christianity

Mere Christianity (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Finishing off the Summer Intensive is one of my all time favorite books. Mere Christianity is one of the first Christian books I read when I fell in love with Jesus. To be honest, I don’t remember much about that first read. This book felt so heavy and dense, illusive and kind of hard to grasp. Yet there was something about it that resonated deep within me, telling me that this whole following Jesus thing was so much bigger than I could have ever imagined.

This summer, I read Mere Christianity for the fourth time. Each time I read it, it gets better and better and I get something new out of it. The way Lewis writes it is amazing – beginning with a basis for God without even mentioning God. He sets a foundation for the book by talking about morality – the fact that we each have a sense of right and wrong that very obviously comes from outside of us and outside of our culture. As he begins to talk about God, he brings to light truths that feel impossible to argue with. Even if you don’t understand the details of everything he says, you finish the book with a conviction that the God of the Bible is true and, if that’s the case, your life should without a doubt reflect that.

This read through, I felt absolutely floored by the pride chapter. Seriously, this book is worth the read for that chapter by itself. Bottom line? I’m a dirty rotten sinner who deserves hell, yet God has saved me by HIS grace. If I can remember that on a day to day basis, my life will be radically different.

I challenge each of you tough girls out there to READ THIS BOOK! I promise, if you take the time and exercise the brain power, you will be different because of it. You will be better!

Well, that rounds out the summer intensive. Did you do it? Did you try? Did you read at least one challenging book this summer?

About Crystal Mazzuca

I'm a youth pastor's wife and mom of three with a love of writing, Africa, and new shoes. When I'm not blogging or shopping, I'm drinking coffee and pondering this amazing world Jesus made. View all posts by Crystal Mazzuca

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

