The Benefits of Low Self Esteem

What do you think of yourself? Honestly and truly?

 

Do you think that you’re pretty? Smart? Athletic? Do you think you have a good sense of humor, amazing logic, or talent beyond compare?

 

We live in a society that tells us to always look for the good in us. To build ourselves up, dwell on our achievements, and constantly pat ourselves on the back.

 

But is that biblical?

 

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.” – Philippians 2:3-4

 

Selfish ambition and vain conceit are something most of us wear like a designer fragrance. We think we’re fabulous and want the world to know. Our conversations are all centered around the words “I” and “me,” and, when they’re not, we’re only asking questions to get some piece of juicy gossip because of how it makes us feel.

 

There isn’t a single one of us that wouldn’t benefit from thinking a little less of ourselves.

 

No, I am not always right.

 

No, I don’t have to have my way.

 

No, I don’t have to prove my point.

 

No, I don’t know everything.

 

No, I am not the center of attention.

 

No, everyone doesn’t have to know what I’m thinking.

 

No, I don’t need to tell people what to do.

 

No, everybody isn’t talking about me.

 

No, every boy that shows me a hint of friendship is not necessarily interested in more.

 

The less we think of ourselves, the more we will think of others. We will be better listeners and better friends. We will serve others and be aware of their needs.

 

We will be more like Jesus.

 

Where’s an area where it might help you to think a little less of yourself?

About Crystal Mazzuca

I'm a youth pastor's wife and mom of three with a love of writing, Africa, and new shoes. When I'm not blogging or shopping, I'm drinking coffee and pondering this amazing world Jesus made. View all posts by Crystal Mazzuca

5 responses to “The Benefits of Low Self Esteem

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

